We save Google shared drives from sanctions (supplement after two years)

We save Google shared drives from sanctions (supplement after two years)

Exactly two years ago, on March 16, 2022, your humble servant told about simple body movements that, with the help of rclone, allow you to save your corporate Google shared drives (not to be confused with personal Google Drive) locally.

Ok, the data has been saved and you can exhale. But what to do if you want to continue using this product, which has no analogues in terms of functionality and ecosystem? And at the same time, do you still want to sleep peacefully at night? Including after new sanctions:

As you may be aware, the European Union has recently introduced new economic sanctions which, from March 20, 2024, ban…

As experience has shown, most companies look at the territory of product use de jure, not de facto. If a sanctioned country is specified in the account, then it is not possible. If it is unsanctioned, then it is normal – even if there is treatment of sanctioned IP.

Unfortunately, it is not possible to change the region in Google Workspace:

You cannot change the territory associated with your account. You will find your country only once, when you find your billing account.

Further actions have already been worked out by many. We register a new account for another country and pay it from a foreign card.

But there remains a small question – how to transfer the data.

A complicated method of migration (with one unpleasant consequence)

If you have a large organization, then most likely you need to go here.

Google Workspace Migrate allows you to migrate data between different storage types. And, including, in the direction of Google shared drives of one organization → Google shared drives of another organization. It transfers not only disks, but also e-mail and data from other Google services.

The solution is very flexible and designed to be scalable, resulting in additional body movements even with small migrations. It is necessary to deploy programs running on several servers, perform checklists with dozens and dozens of points, and then understand the scenarios. Minus a working day is definitely provided for you.

After deploying the Google Workspace Migrate mechanisms and configuring the scripts, you will face one small problem – changing the ID of all Google documents. That is, their links-addresses. After all, when Google Workspace Migrate works, files are not actually migrated, but new copies are created. If you, as in my case with a consulting company, have accumulated tens of thousands of linked Google Sheets and Google Docs over the years, and dozens of external organizations “look” at these files, then a small problem starts to cause big unpleasant consequences.

An easy way to migrate

If you need to transfer only Google shared drives and at the same time keep their ids and links, that is, a very simple way.

  1. Under the admin account new company admin@newcompany create the required number of disks.

  2. Under the admin account old company admin@oldcompany go to each old Google shared drive (if you have more than one) and add admin new company admin@newcompany with the participation of Manager.

  3. Under the admin account new company go to old Google shared drive. You need to do a simple action: use the standard Ctrl-A to select all the root folders and files on a particular drive, press the Move button and move them to new Google shared drive.

  4. Repeat step 3 for each disc.

The method is simple and somewhat obvious. But browsing directs to Google Workspace Migrate. And there you will lose both time and the id of all files.

Related posts